Fiery shrimp cocktail in an ice bowl

fiery shrimp cocktail in an ice bowl

I love this shrimp cocktail. I made this dish for Nikki’s baby shower a couple of weekends ago. I really like serving it in an ice bowl. Yes, a bowl made of ice with fresh herbs and lemons frozen in it. (I will post the directions on how to make the ice bowl later.) It seemed that everyone loved the shrimp –thanks Rachael Ray. This recipe is so simple and yummy, and the shrimp cocktail has a wonderful kick thanks to the Texas Pete.

I only varied from the recipe in two places. 1. I used Texas Pete. 2. I boiled and peeled my own shrimp. I boiled them with 1 Tbl of Old Bay just until they turned pink.

Fiery Shrimp Cocktail

1/4 cup hot pepper sauce, eyeball it (recommended: Tabasco)
1/4 cup ketchup
1 lemon zested and 1/2 lemon juiced
2 ribs celery, from the heart, finely chopped
2 to 3 tablespoons chopped parsley leaves
1 pound small to medium peeled, deveined and cooked shrimp, tails removed
4 pieces leaf lettuce

Combine hot pepper sauce, ketchup, lemon zest and juice, celery and parsley in a small bowl. Add shrimp and coat evenly. Chill 20 minutes, then line 4 cocktail glasses or small dishes with leaf lettuce and top each with 1/4 of chilled shrimp.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Rachael Ray, Seafood, Shrimp

Leave a Reply

