Basil Parmesan Vinaigrette

Tossed salad
Basil Parmesan vinaigrette
Originally uploaded by jenianddean.

I have been making my own salad dressings for a couple years now. There are a couple of reason: I really enjoy flavor; I can control what ingredients I use; and I like the basics of making a dressing or vinaigrette. I try to stay on the lighter side for dressing, but this one is a smidge bad because of the Parmesan cheese. One good thing is you don’t have to drown your salad to get a lot of flavor. This vinaigrette is loaded with flavor. I have been working on this most of the summer because I grew a bunch of basil on the back porch and I love fresh vegetables in the summer. I serve this with a basic chopped salad topped with shredded Parmesan cheese. I hope you all enjoy it!

Basil Parmesan Vinaigrette

½ C fresh basil leaves
1/3 C grated Parmesan cheese
¼ – ½ C extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 garlic cloves
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1/8 teaspoon salt and pepper

In a blender, add basil, Parmesan cheese, vinegar, garlic, mustard, salt and pepper. Process at low speed for 30 seconds to one minute. While the blender is running, begin to stream in olive oil. Switch the speed to high and blend until smooth and serve.

If you are not serving this immediately, keep refrigerated and before serving whisk the vinaigrette to incorporate any oil that may have separated.

Leave a comment

Filed under Basil, Cheese, Dressing, Garlic, Parmesan, Salad, Veggies

Leave a Reply

