Pudge

Pudge!
Originally uploaded by jenianddean.

About 9 years ago, I was looking for some recipes to make Christmas treats. I came across this recipe in an old church cookbook that my mom had had for years. I have always gone on the theory that you can’t go wrong with a church cookbook recipe because people aren’t going to put yucky recipes in there since their names are attached to them and everyone at church knows them. It’s just a theory, but it paid off with this recipe.

I started out making of couple batches each Christmas. Some for close friends and family, and now I make it for all of Dean’s office staff (18 people) and family and friends. The picture is from this year’s mad dash of pudge making for the staff.

Here are a couple of tips. I use a Tupperware mixing bowl that has a coating on the inside so the pudge doesn’t stick. I have used other bowls and it works just fine.Personally I wouldn’t use a glass bowl because the bowl and mixture gets very hot. Sometimes I line the bottom of the pan with wax paper to insure that the pudge does not stick.

Pudge

3/4 cup margarine (1 1/2 sticks)
3 cups sugar
2/3 cup 2% milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 12 oz.-Package Reese peanut butter chips
1 7 oz.-Jar Kraft marshmallow cream

Microwave margarine in 4-quart bowl on high for 1 minute or until melted. Add sugar and milk; mix well. Microwave on high 5 minutes until mixture begins to boil; stir after 3 minutes. Mix well, scrape bowl. Microwave 5 ½ minutes; stir after 3 minutes. Stir in peanut butter pieces until melted. Add remaining ingredients, mix well. Pour into a well greased 8”X8” pan. Cool at room temperature; cut into squares.
Makes 3 pounds.

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Fudge, Peanut butter

3 responses to “Pudge

  1. Thanks! I love this recipe. It’s simple and easy- but super yummy!

  2. Clay

    OH NO YOU DID NOT!!!!! make pudge and not send me some. GAH!! I do miss the Pudge.

Leave a Reply

