Pineapple Salsa

Pineapple Salsa
Originally uploaded by jenianddean.

Originally I made this salsa with a shrimp sate recipe. I have also paired it with grilled salmon. And this is the second time I have made it as a stand alone “dip.” The pineapple-cilantro combination is incredibly refreshing with just enough heat from the jalapeno pepper.

Normally I use fresh pineapple for this recipe, but I decided at the last minute to add it to the menu Saturday night, so I used canned tidbit pineapple. I always double the recipe because it goes fast.

Enjoy!

Pineapple Salsa
(adapted from a Cooking Light recipe)

3/4 C finely chopped pineapple
1/4 C finely chopped red onion
1 Tablespoon minced seeded jalapeno pepper
1 Tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
1 Tablespoon cider vinegar
1 teaspoon honey

To prepare salsa, combine cider vinegar and honey in a medium bowl. Stir pineapple, red onion, jalapeno, and cilantro into the vinegar-honey mixture. Chill for 1 hour.

3 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Cilantro, Condiment, Cooking Light, Jalapeno pepper, Pineapple, Red Onions, Spinach, Vinegar

3 responses to “Pineapple Salsa

  1. Judy

    I still say I am coming to live with you. You are a great, great cook. Love ya, Judy

  2. ::blush:: thanks judy!

Leave a Reply

