Mississippi Sin


Mississippi Sin
Originally uploaded by jenianddean.

Before Christmas I promised to post my sister-in-law Jackie’s recipe for Mississippi Sin. When she came to visit in July, we had some friends over for a little cookout. Jackie said she would make Mississippi Sin as an appetizer. Our friends devoured it in no time flat. I have made it three different times since then with the same results. It is very easy to make, and it’s great for a crowd.

Thanks Jackie!! You rock!

Mississippi Sin

2 cups (8 oz) shredded cheddar cheese
1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 cups sour cream
1/2 cup chopped cooked ham
1/3 cup chopped green chiles (1 small can found in the Mexican food aisle)
1/3 cup chopped green onions
1/8 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 (1-lb) round loaf King’s Hawaiian bread

In mixing bowl, combine shredded cheese, cream cheese, sour cream, chopped ham, chile peppers, green onions, and Worcestershire sauce; stir until well blended. Set dip aside.

Cut a thin slice from top of bread loaf; set slice aside. Using a gentle sawing motion, cut vertically to, but not through, bottom of the loaf, 1/2 inch from the edge, to cut out center of bread. Lift out center of loaf; cut into 1-inch cubes and set aside. Fill hollowed bread loaf with the dip; cover with reserved top slice of bread loaf. Wrap reserved loaf with foil. Bake dip at 350° degrees for 1 hour. Serve with reserved bread cubes, crackers, or potato chips.

Makes about 4 cups of dip.

7 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Bread, Cheese, Green Onions

7 responses to “Mississippi Sin

  1. OMG, my tummy just told me I have to make this for Fat Tuesday tonight.

  2. this sounds sooo yummy!!
    I will certainly try this one out!! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. MMM that looks SO GOOD!! And Kings Hawaiian is my favorite bread!! Im definately going to try this!

  4. I am SO going to try this recipe at my next little gathering of foodies! These kind of recipes make the heart warm and make my house smell amazing!! Thanks, I will post a blog on my own blog with a credit to you when I make it if that’s okay!

  5. I would love to know how it turns out!!

    Thanks!

  6. miss ami

    made this for my hubby’s b-day party it was a big hit, we had to use crackers’ i bought because the guys’ snuck in and ate the center of the bread loaf.. thanks for sharing…

  7. Miss Ami – I’m so glad it was a hit!! And I completely understand about them eating the center before it was served. 😉

Leave a Reply

