Gratin Potatoes


Gratin Potatoes
Originally uploaded by jenianddean.

I have always been a fan of scalloped potatoes, and when I found this recipe I fell in love with it. It’s the simplicity that I love.

Potatoes, cheese, and cream. Simple.

I originally made these for my friend Lisa on her birthday, and they were to die for. I did a repeat a week later when I had my theatre group over to celebrate our second year as a group and they couldn’t get enough of the potatoes. I even had a gentleman ask for thirds. Then when we were at the beach last month I made them for Dean’s family and they were a hit again. And lastly I made them last weekend when Nikki and Todd were here. Nikki asked “Is this recipe on your blog?” I promised her it would be up this week. I’m a couple of days late, but here you go Nikki! Enjoy! Please let me know how they turn out.

Gratin Potatoes

3 pound russet potatoes, scrubbed clean
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 clove garlic, smashed
2 1/2 cup heavy cream
1 cup grated Parmesan
Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Pour the olive in a 10-inch non-stick saute pan over medium heat; rub the bottom with the clove of garlic. Disgard clove. Pour 1/2 cup of heavy cream in the saute pan and place over medium-high heat. Season the cream salt and pepper. Slice the potato in 1/4-inch thick circles. As you slice, add them to the heating cream in even layers. After each layer top with Parmesan cheese. Continue layering until you have used all your potatoes. Once all of the potatoes have been added to the bubbling cream, sprinkle grated Parmesan, salt and pepper over the potatoes, then pour the remaining heavy cream over the top. Place in the oven and bake for 20-30 minutes. Once baked and all brown on top, remove from the oven and let rest for 2 to 3 minutes. Cut in pie shaped pieces and serve.

Recipe adapted from Rachael Ray

3 Comments

Filed under Cheese, Garlic, Parmesan, Potato, Potatoes, Side dishes

3 responses to “Gratin Potatoes

  1. I just gained 15 pounds looking at picture… I’m totally going to have to make these!

  2. Hi Jeni

    I must try this recipe. I just LOVE anything with potatos in it.

    Paula

    P.S. The poppy seed treats at the office this week were delicious.

  3. Thanks Paula! I’m glad you enjoyed them. Let me know how the potatoes turn out.

Leave a Reply

