Shrimp Sate with Pineapple Salsa

This blog has been on hiatus for the past year. It has been an excellent resource for me to grab favorite recipes, but life took hold of me and hasn’t allowed me to update. While I get ready to update with some newer recipes, I’ll be reposting some recipes from my other blog to try to get all my recipes in one place and offer visitors some new content. This recipe is reposted from Serendipitous Reflections on January 22, 2006.

Just before New Years, I did another cooking day with Bill and Barbara’s kids. We decided to do all appetizers. It was a lot of fun and all the food turned out awesome.


I just loved this recipe. It was very simple and full of big flavor. The pineapple salsa is perfect just by itself.

A couple of things that I did differently from the recipe:
1. I did use canned pineapple chucks mainly to save time. If you use canned make sure to drain the pineapple.
2. Also I let the shrimp marinate in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes before I grilled them.

Shrimp Sate with Pineapple Salsa
(Cooking Light magazine)

Salsa:
3/4 C finely chopped pineapple
1/4 C finely chopped red onion
1 Tablespoon minced seeded jalapeno pepper
1 Tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
1 Tablespoon cider vinegar
1 teaspoon honey

Sate:
2 Tablespoons chopped fresh mint
2 Tablespoons fresh lime juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
24 large shrimp, peeled and deveined
8 wooden skewers (6″)

To prepare salsa, combine first 6 ingredients in a medium bowl.

To prepare sate, combine mint, juice, salt, and chili powder in a large bowl; add shrimp, tossing gently to coat. Thread 3 shrimp onto each skewer. Place shrimp on a preheated grill (coated with cooking spray); grill 1-2 minutes on each side or until shrimp turn pink. Serve with salsa. Garnish with cilantro sprigs, if desired.

Yields 4 servings (2 skewers and 1/2 C salsa)
Calories 208; fat 3g; protein 34.9g; carbs 8.7 g

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Pineapple, Salsa, Shrimp

Leave a Reply

